The same day
22 December 2004 at 12:50 pm

So, for my own reference, I'm making a list of stuff I really ought to do before the end of the week. I'll try to finagle a real entry below it.

  • Enter Adam's contacts
  • Update Xmas card list
  • Burn Garden State CD
  • Write Kelly F. a Xmas card
  • Put boss' stuff on eBay
  • Buy textbooks for next year on Amazon
  • Work out a lot
  • Buy Aaron's Xmas ornament
  • Deposit my dad's check
  • Make dermatologist and gyno and ear doctor appointments

    Somehow or another I finished my English final and got back my rewrite. So far I have an A on all the essays, but the final was answering four ridiculous questions regarding Othello. I never actually read the play (yay Sparknotes!) so I was pretty much lost. Oh well.

    My brother's moving here today! My mom's coming down to help him out so we're all heading out to dinner tonight. I had it in my head that I would somehow manage a workout within the timeframe, but that's simply not possible. I haven't worked out for at least three weeks now. Three weeks ago I think my foot hurt or something. Two weeks ago I had a kidney infection but I thought it was the flu and a pinched nerve. One week ago I still had a kidney infection. This week I started the period from hell and also, I'm busy and popular. At least if the world freezes over within the next few months I'll have enough blubber to outlast you ridiculous waifs out there. Ha-HA! I win!

    We watched Napoleon Dynamite last night, but before that we watched half of Red Vs. Blue. First of all, it's laugh-so-hard-you-cramp-up-and-die hilarious. Second of all, yay! You should track it down if you know anything about Halo or if you know someone who does. You should buy it if, like me, you live with someone who stays up until 8am most mornings playing Halo 2. Then you can watch it together, bond over the funny, and threaten to throw the X-Box out the window if they continue playing the fucking game for forty hours a week.

    Napoleon Dynamite was really, really funny for about forty minutes. Then, it was just kind of smirky. The dance scene was funny. Then it was kind of lame. It wasn't exactly a waste of two hours but I'm glad I netflicked it instead of seeing it in the theater.

    Aaron got me Kingdom Hearts Chain of Memories for my Gameboy as an xmas present and let me open it last night (I HATE SURPRISES btw). I like it because it's fun but I hate it because it's so complicated. All these cards and all these random numbers that I'm supposed to understand -- yeah right. But I beat the first boss on the bus ride to work today, so I guess I'm getting the hang of it. I'm really, really awful at video games. Rather than devise a strategy and really master the games, I press all the buttons as often as possible and hope for a pleasant outcome. This works really well for the arcade versions of Street Figher and Mortal Kombat, not so much with Gameboy games.

    I've been told by two people in the past few weeks that I'm pretty much living the best life ever right now. There's that theory -- the three things you can never have all at once are an apartment, a relationship, and a job. I like my apartment, though it's too small. I'm happy my relationship. Considering I don't have a degree and am on salary, I'm thrilled with my job. Considering that three years ago I was cutting myself, smoking pot every day, and drinking to the point of vomiting more nights than I was sober, that two years ago I was living in a basement while my boyfriend cheated on me, and that one year ago I was depressed and unemployed and acquiring a huge debt that will be completely paid off within the next three months, and that I have an attainable ten-year plan, I can honestly say that life is as good as it will ever be.

    0 comments

    mod l post-mod

    |

  • New
    Old
    Profile
    Notes
    Extras
    Contact
    Image
    Host
    Trackback

    About me
    Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.