I Spy
22 October 2004 at 10:29 am

I'd never played I Spy before and didn't really understand the game. You say what you see and the other person has to see it too? I Spy a tree. That one? NO! HAHAHA! But we tried. I Spy something foreboding: the clouds, fog and smog, covering the city when the freeway was clear and sunny. I Spy something silly: the tuxedo'd statue with a stovepipe hat. I Spy love: the air between us, giggle, retch.

We were driving back from house- and cat-sitting for my friend, the one who said, "You and Aaron can't break up, you're my example of a good couple." This from the girl who will have a boyfriend for three years, break up, and immediately -- within days if not hours -- be in a new long-term relationship. We're on our second year now, officially, but I'd never had a boyfriend before so I don't know what my pattern is.

The drive south was easy, as was the drive north for that matter. When you have nowhere to be and absolutely zero obligations, life is as easy to take as a Flintstones chewable vitamin. That's a HORRIBLE metaphor, I'm so embarrassed for me. We mosey'd, sauntered as much as you can in a Tercel, our way into Santa Cruz and immediately got lost. By the time we'd found our way, it didn't matter at all. We spent the next few days on the beach, letting the dog swim and holding our breath as the waves crashed down on him, threatening to sweep him out to the surfers. We wandered around the bedraggled dog run and lost a total of four tennis balls in the span of an hour. Santa Cruz has issues with bathrooms for non-customers so I hid myself in the winding woods surrounding the park and, for maybe the third time in my life, my urine was one with nature.

We went out with aforementioned friend and her boyfriend to a wine bar for our, "Holy shit, it's been two years?!" dinner. I ordered the ravioli, an appetizer as an entree, and received four dumplings and a few marinated sprouts. It was ok, I'd filled up on gourmet cheese anyway.

The day of our departure, we went to the Boardwalk, in spite of the disappointing fact that it's only open on the weekends during off-season. The arcade was fun even though I still suck at Donkey Kong and all other video games for that matter.

We left, not reluctantly but knowing we'd had our fill of vacation, and Aaron taught me the game. I Spy you: a billboard for HP. I Spy foliage: the ivy. I Spy traffic: everywhere. I Spy home: and then we were there.

one year ago today: "I feel as though I have done something wrong and am about to get caught." and "In other words, I Wuv My Boyfriend."

two years ago today: "everything they ever said is true:"

three years ago today: "are they any boys who read this?" and "and that's the plan."

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.