That's what's in the jar
19 September 2004 at 3:49 pm

I have a patented death stare. It involves one part glare, one part snarl, and three parts evil thoughts. I've practiced long and hard to acquire this look and the attitude required to make it work and, when used scarcely, the combination can get me out of work, out of trouble, out of paying for certain menu items and into the position of power I crave so deeply. I used it this morning when the waitress brought honey instead of syrup and neglected to be properly apologetic when Aaron informed her of this fact after he had poured it all over his french toast. That alone is not enough to induce the death stare: she also waited ten minutes to tell us that they were out of french toast and would not be able to replace the meal. Aaron was far too nice about it, but one glance at me and she only charged us for my lukewarm eggs and hashbrowns and scratched out the coffee and orange juice and side of bacon. She dropped the money twice before giving us our change back and knocked into another waitress trying to get away from our table. We still gave her 15% because I wouldn't have cared if I'd ruined somebody's meal either.

The m-w.com word of the day is: morganatic! which means: "of, relating to, or being a marriage between a member of a royal or noble family and a person of inferior rank, in which the rank of the inferior partner remains unchanged and the children of the marriage do not succeed to the titles, fiefs, or entailed property of the partner of higher rank." Did you know: "So why was the New Latin phrase 'matrimonium ad morganaticam,' which means literally 'marriage with morning gift,' the term for a morganatic marriage? Because it was just that�the wife got the morning gift, but that�s all she was entitled to of her husband�s possessions." I sure as hell didn't. But now I do. A new wrinkle!

Also, the word "morgan" is: "a unit of inferred distance between genes on a chromosome that is used in constructing genetic maps and is equal to the distance for which the frequency of crossing over between specific pairs of genes is 100 percent." Who knew? Not I. I thought my name had something to do with mermaids. Actually, it's Welsh for "the end of the sea." Hmmmm. Ponder the symbolism while I go extract the wax from the inner recesses of my ear via beeswax and fi-yer.

one year ago today: "I wish my body would sent [sic] polite little messages to my brain, like, 'Dear Me, My skin is allergic to fax machine toner, so if you could kindly refrain from dousing yourself in it, I would be much obliged, Love, Me' instead of erupting in a rash that will surely plague me for the rest of the day."

two years ago today: "it was a team effort. i clapped." and "kind of funny how the more i have to do the less i have to say."

three years ago today: whatev. and in which i say, "sum 41 rocks." EW. and in which i say: "woot!" in reference to bob dylan coming to my campus. ???

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.