I'd hammer in the morning.
30 August 2004 at 11:44 am

I've been making a list of things to discuss in here, topics and anecdotes stored up for a rainy day, and I'm going to dig into that now:

  • Calculator Words

    In my math class, I use a $3.99 Walgreens calculator that does little more than add, subtract, multiply, and divide. The class is a very basic level math -- think middle school level -- so I manage to do all of the homework in class and still have a good while to spare. Since I'm doing grade-school math, I think it's only appropriate that enjoy grade-school humor while avoiding the teacher. I amuse myself far too much by creating with my calculator such words as:

    BOOBS (80085)

    hEll (4311)

    ooh,hell (004,4311)

    hissss (415555)

    Et cetera. The inner child in me cheers.

  • Writer's Callus

    Having not written with a pencil for a long period of time, my writer's callus -- the extra-tough bit of skin on my middle finger that makes the tip of my finger look like a bizarre pyramid -- has long since been sloughed away. It is quickly returning with a vengeance thanks to my obsessive-compulsive nature requiring me to push down hard on the pencil to leave a distinct enough mark. I don't know why that shit bugs me so much, but I HATE it when the pencil lead isn't hard enough or when people just barely press down on the paper. UGH, it drives me crazy.

  • Doodle habits

    Similar to calculator words, I've made a habit of the sorts of things I doodle when deliriously bored. Such things include anime eyes, tornadoes, clouds, figures made from numbers (like the dog made from 25), interesting ways to write my name, and phrases that pop into my head and threaten to destroy me lest I scream them or write them down: "integers - ingrates. YOU ARE!" "Trust me, I'm a math teacher." "Oh, isn't this FUN?!" and "Nevermind."

    Now wasn't that fun? And I didn't even exhaust my list.

    I'm feeling more on top of things since I paid my bills. I have yet to confront a coworker over and *issue* but I'm sure it will be resolved. If not...well, I hate this job anyway.

    one year ago today: "i kicked everyone's ass AGAIN"

    two years ago today: nothin.

    three years ago today: nothin.

    0 comments

    mod l post-mod

    |

  • New
    Old
    Profile
    Notes
    Extras
    Contact
    Image
    Host
    Trackback

    About me
    Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.