a love there is no cure for
06 August 2004 at 10:28 am

On the walk to work this morning, I crossed paths with a 30something man and his 6 or 7 year old son. They were approaching a crosswalk, the man holding a coffee, the boy holding a frozen yogurt. The boy was running to keep up with his dad, the man had his eyes locked on the crosswalk sign, blinking down the seconds until the light would turn red. He was coaching his son: "Are you ready, guy? Ok, let's do this." The boy, so eager to please, sprinted ahead of his father, turned around once he'd safely reached the sidewalk, and jumped up and down in victory. His father gave him an "Attaboy," leaned down to grab his hand, and they continued on their way.

It reminded me of my dad, how we used to go skiing together, how he would take me down double diamonds when I was 6 years old without telling me what class they were, have me look up at the end of the run, and tell me what I just did. I, inevitably, would burst into tears in spite of the fact that the run hadn't been all that hard, and then my mom would find me crying and scold my dad for putting her little girl through that.

I've always been a drama queen.

My coworkers are discussing small town life with a gleam in their eye. A gleam that says, "I've lived the hard city life and now I have a family and the highlight of my day is learning of a new, non-homicidal way for ridding a lawn of raccoons." It's amusing, kind of pathetic, and also very sad for those unsatiable souls such as myself.

Aaron gets home today! I'm so excited I could spit. I even started to miss the dog last night.

one year ago today: nothin.

two years ago today: "this took up another 8 minutes. now i'm back. unemployment rules."

three years ago today: "The deliverance of the mail is the highlight of most days." and "Did they have a purpose in life? Will any being miss them? Was it their fate to be smooshed? Things to ponder."

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.