o brother, where art thou?
05 August 2004 at 9:12 am

My brother flew in last night for his cancer testing. To prepare for the tests, he has to rid himself of all sodium and can't eat salt for a month so we went shopping and decided to make salt-free tacos, which is really hard to do. There's sodium in fucking everything. If you'll recall, I am a horrible cook, so making tacos from scratch without a recipe was rather nerveracking, but I did it and they turned out great! I was ridiculously proud of myself.

My brother is very bitter about his cancer and very nervous about his testing so he magically morphs into Monsieur Asshole to get through it. Since he knows no one else in the city, he's spending all his time with me (and Aaron's x-box) --

Ooo, I want chocolate milk.

-- so I'm taking the brunt of the assholeness. Which is cool, you know, whatever, he's my brother, he's going through a hard time, and even though he totally wasn't there for me when I was in hell, I can be there for him.

Besides, he bought me a bong, so it's cool.

Aaron called twice last night while I was cooking and I missed both calls and burst into tears when I realized it. I can't believe how much I miss him. We'll have been together for two years in October and this is my first long-term relationship, so I didn't know -- or maybe it's just me -- that love isn't a constant. It ebbs and flows, usually to the rhythm of my ovaries, and I find myself falling in love all over again all the time. It's not like I ever fall out of love with him, I just sometimes forget how much he means to me.

Thus ends Morgan's deliberations on love.

Also, I really think that I should be famous. I think I'd be a great famous person -- lots of breakdowns and freak-outs to document and gossip about. And then I could say things like, "I'm super punk rock!!11" or "I'm really just a normal person," with just a touch of irony and it would be bloody great.

And you know what else I want? To not have to do data entry and pretend to be excited about it. Also, to not have to have completed half of my project and have the excel sheet close itself down. That would be nice.

one year ago today: "or am i the only one who still watches disney movies? and still cries? yes? oh well."

two years ago today: "pardon my language. i'm feeling saucy." and "we are the best at EVERYTHING. including exploitation."

three years ago today: nothin.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.