just an old-fashioned
03 August 2004 at 9:29 am

I've changed my route from the bus stop to work. Instead of getting off at New Montgomery and Market and walking a block down Market to 2nd and taking 2nd two blocks down to the office, I walk down New Montgomery, turn left on Mission, and take Minna to the office. Like this.

The advantage to this is that I get to walk by Lee's Bakery, which makes cinnamon rolls fresh every morning and produces the most delightful smells. The disadvantage is that while I'm huffing up the scents du pastry, I sometimes lose myself in the aroma and neglect to notice that I've turned onto Minna, where fresh urine fills my nostrils. Then I make a silly face and snort a few times and head to work.

I had a nice little breakdown this morning, which included throwing the hamper across the room, ripping clothes from the closet and throwing them at the hamper, and telling Aaron that I didn't want to live with him anymore. Then I went and laid down in the clothes I had thrown across the room and sobbed.

This was all because I woke up at 6am to pee and the gas stovetop had been on all night. One of the things had been turned on and never turned off. On top of the particular thing was a pan with oil in it, which had turned black by the time I saw it. Unless stove gnomes paid us a visit, Aaron had left it on all night, potentially killing us.

Then Aaron called me a spoiled brat and got dressed and left and I followed him out into the hall. I asked him if I could tell him one thing and he ignored me. Then he came back and said he had forgotten his lighter so I could tell him. He came in to look for it and I stood in front of the hallway door and then I said, "I don't know what's wrong with me. I go to bed every night and wake up every morning thinking of way to kill myself." Then he started crying and we kissed and made up. And everything's ok until around this time next month.

Aaron walked me outside and we smoked a cigarette while I waited for my bus. I kissed him goodbye, told him I would miss him, got on the bus, told the girl sitting next to me, "Bless you," each time after she sneezed which was twice, and went in search of good smells.

It's nice to have things to count on.

one year ago today: nothin.

two years ago today: "erm...what? it goes without saying." and "like that was supposed to be some kind of compliment? of all these ugly girls, i was the only one worth buying a drink?"

three years ago today: "i am now quite the chubster as a result of maximum munchies and minimum exercise"

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.