My life is made up of the stupid things
19 May 2004 at 9:06 am

We were watching American Idol, as is our custom, and a commercial for SBC came on advertising a free gift from Harry and David if you sign up.

"What did he say?" queries Aaron.

"You get a free gift from Harry and David," responds I. "It's, like, a gourmet food catalog."

"Oh...I thought they were his gay friends or something."

I giggled.

So, apPARently, my car was not stolen, it was towed, a fact I would have been overjoyed to hear on Sunday morning during my multiple calls to the police.

And when I received a phone call from the police on Monday, stating that my stolen car had been found and that I need to go here and here to get a waiver of towing and storage fees, I figured, "No biggee."

But when I got to here and was informed of the aforementioned fact, in addition to the news that I would have to be $525 to get my car out, I was more that slightly pissed. I would have gladly paid the amount on Saturday, which would have been significantly less, had I been told that my car had been towed (even though it shouldn't have been, as it was not blocking a driveway). But no. Now I have the pay the money and wait a few weeks for the hearing, in which I beg for my rent money back.

At least I have witnesses and a tape recording of me asking if my car had been towed, the police saying no and recommending me list it as stolen. Hopefully, all that will come of this is that my car will have had free parking for a weekend.

Pooheads.

one year ago today: it is simply because i'm more comfortable confronting life from a hypothetical perspective."

two years ago today: "chocolate milk and kamel red lights. really, is there anything better?" and "damn you, crazy foreign bang boy!" and "my last night at ucsb. of course i'm spending it smoking by myself, eating the most calorie-ridden food ever. it just couldn't be any other way."

three years ago today: "Sounds very familiar." and "I'm so fabulous - if only I could mix a decent martini!"

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.