Elevator Music
12 May 2004 at 1:59 pm

In the back of this week�s issue of Newsweek, there�s an article entitled, �An Apology to the Graduates� (or something to that effect). The gist of it is, we�re pushed so hard, forced to work so hard, forced to go above and beyond every parameter previously set for the generations before us, that it�s nearly impossible to be successful, according to today�s version of success. Few are going to get into an Ivy League, few are going to have six digit salaries coming out of college, most of us are going to be doing jobs that, thirty years ago, we could have done without spending four plus years and tens of thousands of dollars for a piece of paper that basically says, �I read and wrote for more than forty hours a week for the past four years and all I got was this lousy placard.�

Even after we find a job that sufficiently pays the bill, we�re encouraged � rather, forced to find the Perfect Mate and raise the Perfect Child (who will undoubtedly have it harder once it�s time for him or her to make his or her way in the world) while maintaining a Perfect Career, thus creating a Perfect Society.

Another article touched on the fact that people are so self-involved because they have to be to survive that the society as a whole is suffering. While my generation is typically anti-war, the protests are pitiful compared to those of the 60s. I�ve never been to a protest � I�m not even registered to vote -- because I�ve been raised to believe that I can only depend on myself, that only I will be able to push myself forward in society.

It�s all very frustrating. My high school therapist once asked me to define success, and I said that success means money. Now, I think that if you can support yourself financially and emotionally, you�re good to go.

My mother hates my life right now. She has told me that Aaron isn�t good enough for me because he�s a cook. For a woman who has supported an alcoholic husband and two kids over two decades (well, she stopped supporting the now ex-husband a number of years ago), you�d think she�s realize that I, as a woman, don�t need someone to take care of me. In fact, as a direct result of my upbringing, I have to take care of other people. I need to be needed. But this isn�t good enough for her.

So anyway, my point it, I need to work on feeling accomplished with what I�ve already done, and not base my version of success on what society views as success. If it�s good enough for me, if I pay my taxes and turn in lost credit cards (like I did yesterday) and don�t take advantage of government problems, then I think I�m doing pretty well.

In other news, fuck you, Comcast. AND Derrick, you pilferer!

And also, I have a horrible temper. This is something I didn�t realize until Aaron was like, �Why are you yelling at me just because it�s morning? I didn�t tell the sun to come up so early.�

one year ago today: "i don't ask for much (--as all my friends keel over laughing--)...just let me be young and in love and fuck up and i won't come crying to you when i do, i promise."

two years ago today: "ta da!"

three years ago today: �*ta da*�

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.