The night belongs to lovers
26 April 2004 at 1:50 pm

Sometimes, and usually when I'm watching Grease on VH1, but only when I'm alone, I will sing along. Damien, who oft times is sitting next to me during these moments of blind optimism, will give me a Look. This Look involves severe eyerolling, a sticking out of the tongue, and a move to the opposite side of the couch. That's a lot of expression from a dog, and let me tell you, it hurts to be on the receiving end of said Look.The current trend of using the term "said" to refer to something previously referenced is decidedly annoying. It's time to end the trend. "Proverbial" has also become a washed-up term of the pseudointellectual. Suggested new literary trend: bring back the semi-colon!

Here is what moms are great for: telling you what hosiery to buy. I was on my way to Victoria�s Secret to hook myself up with some $8.00 hose when my mum happened to call and I mentioned what I was up to. �Go to Walgreens and get Legg�s � the kind in the weird cardboard cup. Sheer looks most natural. They�re the cheapest and longest lasting.� Indeed, I got two pairs for $6.00, and so far, so good. That�s what motherhood is all about: passing on years of experience. I mean, I could have paid for overpriced leg coverage for decades before I had an emergency and needed the cheap stuff and discovered that they were of better quality. Yay Mom!

Suzzi (of the Santa Barbara Suzzis) came to visit this weekend, and it was kind of mind boggling. I think it relates back to what Joanna and I were talking about � how everyone�s going in such different paths, and it takes that much more effort to keep in touch with people who don�t necessarily understand where you�re coming from anymore. I�m working fulltime in an Office, have a live-in boyfriend and a dog. My old roommate has a baby and is living with her parents. Joanna�s still in school fulltime, Esp�s still in the high school mindset with her clique drama (sorry, babe, that�s what it is), and Suzzi is still in Santa Barbara smoking and drinking like all good college students. She wanted to go out and hit up the clubs, but the problem was, I didn�t want to. The bar scene here is no different than in Santa Barbara, and besides, I couldn�t leave the dog at home. I�ve always been a homebody; Suzzi just happened to meet me at a time when I was seeing if being social and outgoing was the way for me. (It wasn�t.) I know Suzzi and I will keep in touch for a long time, but I wouldn�t call her if I had a problem. I�d call her when the problem was resolved. I dunno, the whole situation kind of made my head spin.

Of course, I could have just been really stoned.

It was fucking HOT this weekend, and my left shoulder is sunburned. Why my left, one might ponder? Because I had to drive an hour to Morgan Hill to pick Suzzi up, and the sun was beating down on that lone shoulder. Ah, the epic battle between uneven tan lines and my level of caring.

My entry from three years ago involves me bitching about how I have to work fifteen hours in one weekend. Says my friend: �You work too hard.� Wow. People have been telling me that for three years, since I was 17. Midlife crisis, here I come!

P.S. I masturbated six times yesterday. Wow!

one year ago today: ��nate? who's nate? OH. big dick nate!�� and �woody allen, you are one fucked up asshole.�

two years ago today: �gah! work sucks! gah!�

three years ago today: �you work too hard�

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.