In which I overuse parentheses.
09 April 2004 at 11:30 pm

More weird dreams. In one, I lost a chunk of time while I was hanging out with my friends and they said, "Do you want to smoke more?" and I said, "I haven't smoked at all!" and they said, "You just did, an hour ago!" and I said, "I don't remember that!" I think that has to do with the fact that I was thinking about getting hiiiigh, but my subconscious doesn't want me to. In the second dream, I was at a resort on a boat and the boat half-sank,but the lake we were on was only, like, three feet deep. I had, for some reason, brought my most precious possessions (among them my blankie, which I still have but no longer sleep with...maybe it's infiltrating my dreams because it misses me? I used to half-believe it was human-like), and they had been in the part of the boat that sank. We ended up on land, and I wanted to catch a boat taxi (??) to go look for my beloved items, but I couldn't find one, so I looked in my wallet and found a $5000 bill, which I had apparently won during a poker game on the boat. While I was waking up, I was thinking about how I would have to go to the bank and ask if the bill was real, and felt severe sadness for my missing belongings.

My dreams are always really detailed, and the meanings are really obvious.

I burnt my tongue with my boullion (which I pronounce bul-e-yon, instead of just bul-yon...and I always say provoloneY, instead of provolone) and now the texture of the rice I'm eating feels really weird.

Aaron got his paycheck today, sans the overtime pay he was supposed to get. The office lady said that California law doesn't require overtime after you work 8 hours, only if you work over 40 hours a week. Inquiries with the office lady at my place of employment and with the California labor law web page have proven otherwise. Unless the employees at the place of work vote with a 2/3 majority to make a reasonable schedule in which employees work over 8 hours without overtime, but overtime is required (at a minimum of time-and-a-half) for hours worked over 40 hours in a work week, then if you work over 8 hours in one shift, you get bank. Additionally, you can trade your overtime compensation for more vacation hours. I learned a lot today, but mostly I learned that the restaurant business is a fickle, fickle arena of greed.

At Circolo, where Aaron worked for two weeks and then they promised to bring him back in when they finally opened, they are refusing to pay him, saying that entire period was a try-out period. Bullshit. He had a verbal agreement that he would be paid "well" for all of those hours. This had been an ongoing debacle for two months now, and he's being very passive about $300, which is very frustrating.

Aaron was telling me about how he and our neighbor were walking their dogs at the park when a sign fell on my neighbor. A giant aluminum sign. I, aghast, said she should sue the city, because it knocked her down and there's still a giant bruise and her hip's all weird now, or she should at least alert the city about their faulty sign-hanging policies. Aaron said that most people don't see every situation as an opportunity to sue. Is that true? Am I the only one walking around, paying attention to every detail in case I get hit by a car or a sign so if I get hurt and it's someone else's fault, I'll be able to give an accurate description of what happened?

Easter brunch on Sunday with my mum, my stepdad, Aaron, and my new partner-in-crime Sam. Should be a roarin' good time.

one year ago today: "i hate relationships. i hate the uncertainty, the inevitable betrayal, the pointless lies, the bitter truths, the extreme happiness followed by the deepest sadness, the confusion, and the general, all-around poopiness. but then, it's nice to have a steady fuck."

two years ago today: "*swoon*" and "i want someone to reach into my head and pull out the thoughts and weed out the bad ones and organize the rest in order of importance and relevance and stick them back in. then i want a hug." and "i need someone to say hey, i'm insane too, isn't it fun?" and "sometimes i think i'm just making this up. this is what i think when i'm sitting on my chair, my head on my knees, manically pulling my hair upwards."

three years ago today: nothin.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.