Describe for us what we're seeing
07 March 2004 at 11:38 pm

Aaron does the voice of Jason on Home Movies fucking PERFECTLY. It's hilarious.

We went to a party tonight and my allergies attacked again. Isn't that a Fox special? When Allergies Attack? The people there were having a conversation about The Passion Of The Christ, and I had some things to add (how the torture of Christ isn't the point of the story, how the only way for God to get attention in this day and age is through extreme violence and controversy as opposed to the 50s and 60s when the story of God was enough in and of itself, etc), but I was sneezing to much to get a word in edgewise.

On a particularly mindnumbing day, I'm standing on Market St in front of a gallery for lease, smoking a cigarette. My first and last ten-minute break during this ridiculously routine eight-hour day. A homely-looking man approaches me, and I'm prepared to give my "It's my last cigarette, sorry," speech, when he asks me if the gallery is mine. Nope, just utilizing the empty space, trying to stay away from the foot traffic. "You plannin on it, though, I see you thinkin." Sure, buddy, yeah, you never know. "Yeah, it's San Francisco, you never know!"

I smiled for the first time all day.

Yesterday, Aaron brought me lunch at work and we ate in the sunlit streets of Union. The place we chose was near a homeless man I always see when I work at the Union St store, asking for "Spa' chan', thanks mm', have a nice da'," and after a half hour of him being ignored by virtually every person who wlaked past him, we gave him a dollar in change. I never donate to homeless people, because, I'm practically homeless myself, but no one even acknowledged his presence. I at least look them in the eye and say, "No, not today."

Sometimes, all you really need is to be acknowledged.

But usually, you need money.

one year ago today: "joanna and i used to talk about how that would be the best revenge: blaming someone else for your suicide."

two years ago today: "and oh, thursdays at college are gooooooood."

three years ago today: "i've discovered something!"

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.