Sobre todo mi madre
19 December 2003 at 3:45 pm

I'm not going to say that I don't ever question what the hell I'm doing, because a lot of the time, I do. But I've been second-guessing myself for a very long time -- well, my entire life, to be exact -- and everything's turned out ok.

My mother, inevitably, hates that I live with my boyfriend. Moving in together was less a decision than it was just what was going to happen. I didn't really think about it -- not in a passive way, I just let the natural path of the relationship form. Oh, and also, I hated my apartment, and it was cheaper to live with him.

She hates that I'm committed at such a young age, though she's been telling me for a long time that I'm older than my chronological age. This is going to make me sound my age, but I've had enough experiences to know what I want. I've also lived a great deal of my life knowing what I don't want but having no idea what I do want. And now, I have what I want: a place of residence I can call home, a city in which I can have experiences unlike those available in my hometown (screw the "it's what you make of it" philosophy), and a person with whom I can share those experiences.

I still have my dreams and aspirations, but I've fixed myself so I can appreciate what I have now while simultaneously wanting more. I'm not settling, I'm not dealing ... I'm living, I guess.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.