Never second best
17 December 2003 at 8:56 am

I'm not a very affectionate person, I've decided.

The water in my building has been turned off because a pipe burst under the street. The toilet doesn't flush, the teeth aren't getting brushed, the radiator doesn't work...I feel like I'm living in a third world country about to be liberated from a cruel tyranny, teased by the prospect of convenience but still oppressed.

My mom and I spent three hours on Union Street in Cow Hollow yesterday looking for a job. One place said they would call that afternoon and never did, three places said they would give my resume to their managers but I'm sure I'll never hear back, and one place (Cingular) called me in for an interview at 3pm today. My brother had a friend who worked at a cell phone shop, and he made shitloads of money, but I'm not the most amazing salesperson ever because I hate it when I say no and the salespeople keep saying, "But!" So, yeah.

Aaron, my mum, and I went to Aaron's restaurant where we were spoiled like the VIPs we were all supposed to be. They gave us a tasting menu, letting us sample every single decadent thing on the menu. It was all caviar dreams and pinot noir wishes and then the check came: including our $50 bottle of wine, the tab was $100, thanks to Aaron's 50% discount. A seven course meal for three people for one hundred dollars. That's fucking cheap [when I'm not paying]. A nice time was had by all, which was unexpected since both Aaron and my mom have expressed their grievances about each other.

I got the cutest shoes ever for $30 from Nine West. Three-inch kitten heels, rounded toe, mod target on the toe...I love them. If I could marry them, we would be on our way to Vegas.

Today, I'm dying my hair back to what it was when I was in high school. I think the years of torturing my hair with cheap dye every few weeks are over.

Must nap before departure.

one year ago today: "motherfucker, of course, is a term of endearment."

two years ago today: nothin.

three years ago today: nothin.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.