I am absolutely livid
23 September 2003 at 9:56 am

It's not so much that I mind working my ass off 40+ hours a week, because I am a big fan of money. It's not so much that I find myself shaving a few minutes off breaks, coming in earlier and leaving later. It's not so much that they won't even let me call in sick. It's just that when I request three consecutive days off a month from now and am brutally rebuffed -- that's when I get pissed. When they put off hiring a new teller because they're too busy to do interviews. When I get glares for making miniscule, easy-to-fix mistakes with little-to-no praise for the oodles of extra work, work no other teller does, work I shouldn't be doing for the money I make -- when I'm taken for granted, that's when I want to take Sanam's advice, walk into the middle of the branch, and exclaim in my most eloquent voice, "I am absolutely livid!"

one year ago today: nothing

two years ago today: "thought of the day: where does the term "waffle" come from? and why must it rhyme with "awful" when generally, they are not?"

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.