Longways
20 September 2003 at 9:02 am

So I was supposed to hit up this party last night, but then I called my friend who had invited us and she asked if I had to bring my other friends because the people throwing the party wanted it to be low key, even though they'd had laminated fliers printed and it was written up in the Stranger (albeit accidentally), my two friends couldn't come because, I dunno, they'd make it awkward for everyone else.

And the only reason I wanted to go was the laugh at all the 'artists' (artists are the easiest people to laugh at, if you squint the right way), and I wanted Aaron to come because we're joined at the hip, and I wanted my other friends to come because they're fun. But what was I supposed to say: remember how we were going to go to that party? You in particular are officially uninvited, courtesy of the person who invited us in the first place because she said it was quantity over quality, but I'm still going ... uh, see you later.

It's just one of the typical things that this friend does, and not only does she not tell me in advance that I had to uninvite my friends, I had to call her to see what the haps were. So what would have happened if we'd just shown up ... we would have been glared at, ignored, and ostracized?

Perhaps I'm being a bit melodramatic (perhaps?!), but it's the straw that broke the camel's back. It's so hard to find dependable people.

The night turned out ok, as we got free pizza from Adam's work, got Aaron's hair cut (I heart Rudy's Barber Shop...they let me bring the dog inside And told me where I could get some talc that I've been trying to hunt down for the past four years), and settled in for a night of Family Guy watchin' and pretzel eatin'. Prior to the festivities, we stopped at Big 5 to get some wristbands and found some striped ones that Aaron has deemed the Coolest Wristbands Ever. He was so ridiculously excited, he started literally hopping about. I wish I could be so happy with the little things, but my euphoria from consumerism waxes and wanes with the coming of my credit card bill. I'm such an adult.

Birthday party tonight for 'sexy and seventeen-soon-to-be-eighteen' Jessi. I will be providing the Most Kickass Brownies Ever, as well as getting a tad tipsy off homemade magaritas. It's been a long week, but it's so close to being over...Woo hoo!

one year ago today: "it wouldn't be my life if the majority of my happiness was derived from actual, instead of hypothetical, occurences."

two years ago today: "wouldn't it be better to pool all these foundations into a few big foundations that are named after what they stand for? like, "the breast cancer fund" or "the music is cool foundation" instead of "the i'm joe schmo and i want you to know i care foundation"?" and "to feel like i can be my misfit self and be accepted and have people think, 'that morgan...' instead of 'that freak...'."

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.