someone before
04 June 2003 at 1:19 pm

it's hard to keep inspiration going when DIARYLAND IS NEVER FUCKING UP.

ahem:

my family, when it was a proper family unit, bought a pair of basset hounds to fill the k9 void left by the death of our dear golden retriever, McLean Barrister (Maccer, if you will). when we purchased said doggies, we haggled a bit to get the price dow. we settled on $200, though my 12-year-old mind knew we could have gotten them for less because the former owners were desperate to be rid of them (we soon found out why, as they quickly massacred our backyard). when i asked my mom why she didn't go lower, she said something along the lines of, "honey, you don't have to screw people just because you can." i'm sure she said it more eloquently, but the point is, i'm not afraid to pay a little more for something even if i could get it for a better bargain because you have to recognize the value of something.

and you have to pick your battles.

working in a bank, i'm reminded of this often as people bitch at me for not waiving the $4.00 money order fee (the people who complain the most are those who have the most money in the bank ... darlings, i think you can afford it. is it really worth the energy of degrading me to get a fucking free check?), or other similiar scenarios. if you ever go to a bank, or any place of business, and the employee stares at you blankly or puts on an obvious act of scripted customer service, it's not necessarily that they're bad people; customers wear down your self-worth to the point that all you can do is pretend to be who you're supposed to be.

that really doesn't have too much to do with my anecdote...mostly, i think of that experience when i witness someone trying to screw another out of a few dollars. deal with it, people.

in other news, fuck you.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.