i'm not waiting 'til i grow up
29 April 2003 at 9:43 am

there's a certain point during a show at which everyone starts dancing. it could be a backup lyric that was particularly appropriate, a drum solo that was particularly boombastic, a guitar riff that just rocked that hard, and then everyone's head starts moving.

there are the I'm-Too-Cool-For-You(-except-I-don't-want-to-possibly-make-a-fool-of-myself)-but-i-can-head-bop-ers. there are the I-can't-dance-so-I'll-just-bounce-ers. I fall into the category of I'd-dance-if-I-could-but-there's-no-room-so-I'll-just-sway-ers. and then, there's the requisite Drunk Girl, heckling and shimmying her heart out.

So I went to my beloved libertines last night. They were so tiny! And cute! And British! And rockin'! Stedtmiller (or something), the openers, were like a male Donnas, except more 70s, and The Lashes were contrived. They opened with this whole gothic thing, including some guy spray-painting their name on a black backdrop, which was kind of cool. Then they jump into their first song, and the lead singer's voice was emo and the band was way too indie for it. Aaron had talked to the lead at sonic boom, apparently, and said he was kind of nerdy. I told him that that may be so, and he also may be potentially gay, but he is ridiculously good looking.

I love it when they play David Bowie (as opposed to Faith Hill) at my branch.

so we had fun, getting all dressed up, and it was just what i needed after the SHITTY ASS DAY i had. i was supposed to get off at 5:30, but ended up staying until 6:30 because some stupid cunt had called in sick. there were only two tellers and it was manically busy. This, of course, occured on the day of the Super Hormonal Migraine (a weekly event), and my branch is lacking in ibuprofen. I contemplated taking one of my ever-dwindling supply of vicodin, but then I decided that collapsing in the middle of the busiest work day in a while would not be the best idea.

So I'm going home. Suzy's memorial service is Saturday the 10th (I mean, people from high school are dying already. Hi, real life, how you doin?) and I already bought my ticket. And Esp will be home from the Phillipines, so it'll be nice to see her. And my mom's fiance and his 2 kids are all moved in, so I'm going home to a brand new family, yaaaaaaay. Woooooo. Waaaaaaa. And this weekend I might end up in Oregon, skiing with my dad. When did I become so family oriented? Silly world.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.