all i know is that i don't know nothin - gd
26 September 2001 at 1:01 pm

right. it's been 3 days of classes and i feel like i've been here a month...but in a good way. this is what i wanted, a schedule, a routine. and i have some friends now, thought some of them are obligatory relationships (which i hate, unless i feel like i'm using them...which i am...muhaha). and so, my classes. because you care.

mwf at 10 and w and 9 is my theater appreciation class (DA60). i actually like it...the lecture's huge, so i don't really have to pay attention, which is nice, and the people are nice (this girl sat next to me and started talking, which usually annoys me, but she was nice in a good way. yes, there is a bad way to be nice. she was genuinely interested in stuff. which was nice. so to speak.) and in the discussion, there's so much energy that it's great. i came in there a few minutes late (all the buildings are shaped differently so you have to walk around the entire thing to find your goddamn class) but the class was still getting started and the teacher told me to go around and introduce myself to everyone, which normally would absolutely humiliate me but because there was so much energy it just seemed normal and it was nice. the only problem with da60 is that we have to go to six performances, and we have to pay for these six performances. that's another $80 that my mom has to pay (yay for credit cards not billed to me and yay for mom's who make a shitload of money.) but i'm actually really looking forward to it because i like theater, and something tells me the theater scene around here is going to be a lot, well, better than that in redding. i'm going to my first one off campus tonight with christine (who continues to rock) and we're taking the bus there and stuff and it'll be fun. i know some people in the class, but i don't really like either of them. i thought it'd like sabrina, but she's either got a superiority complex or a real problem with non-loud people such as myself. whenever we're having a conversation, i'll try to say something and she just totally interrupts me. this is one of the aforementioned obligatory relationships, and i think she feels the same way. we went to lunch today and i was extra loud just to see how she'd react. she didn't. how boring. the other girl in the class is megan, whom i cannot stand for her comment on how she doesn't like to discuss political issues because everyone's religious and republican and she makes people cry. bitch.

mwf at 11 and w at 1 is my philosophy 1 class (phil 1). the curriculum is good: we're given all the notes, and he lectures on them in class, and we're given the exam questions ahead of time and we're allowed to bring 1 sheet of notes in with us for tests, which is reassuring at first. but think about it. if the college professor feels that we NEED to have the questions beforehand and that we'll NEED those notes, it's kind of unsettling. it'll be hard, but it'll be alright, i think. this would be the first course i would drop, if i felt the need to drop a course.

t th at 11 and m at 12 is my music appreciation class (MA15), which i thoroughly enjoy. the lecture's huge, again, but i really like the professor. and i dunno, i like classical music. it's inspiring. the prof played music for us for the first lecture, and i just got chills. most of the people in the class were really bored and fidgety, but i liked it, dammit. alison's in that class, and she is also nice in a good way. my discussion group seems ok...the t.a. is sooooo super cute and his name is cory mathers (as in, boy meets world...hahaha) and he played weezer on the piano for us. which i enjoy.

t and th at 8am (jesus) and f at 12 is my communication 1 (comm1) class. the professor seems really approachable, which is good because apparently the tests are incredibly fucking hard. multiple choice, which i suck at anyway, with the "all of the above" and "a and b only" option. so you really, really have to know the stuff. sabrina's in this class, too.

and those are my classes. yesterday, christine and i went swimming at the pool, which was really nice. i swam for about an hour, which impressed christine (even though she's in far better shape than i) and we tanned for a bit and talked. after walking back, with a stop off at the advising center to verify that i truly am a sophomore (kickass), i started getting these terrible pains in my stomach area. i assumed it was because i hadn't drank any water for a while since i'd worked out and i hadn't eaten anthing substantial, but then it started to feel like there was a hole in my stomach and all the acids were leaking everywhere. needless to say, i was concerned. i had some tuna fish, which made me feel a little better, and popped some pepto bismal pills, which helped tons. later that night, i started feeling the same gross tum feeling but then i started getting nauseous in my throat, and whenever that happens i usually throw up. i didn't last night, but i felt like such shit. my head was fuzzy, i couldn't walk straight, i was incredibly weak, etc, etc. i laid down for a bit, and couldn't really get back up so i crawled to my phone and called my mum, who told me that i hadn't eaten enough protein. so i had some more tunafish and felt 100 times better and started dancing around because it's good to be Healthy! except the dancing wore me out and i crashed after an hour. and i'm such a nerd - i spent all of last night (like, 5 hours) reading and taking notes on my reading and it was the second fucking day of school. it was actually kind of glorious, because i was listening to billie and reading, but then i would go out to the bathroom and everyone would be running around being social and i was, uh, doing my hw. i'm not even that good of a student, so that's what was especially strange. but i started getting a panic attack when i would take a break, and it's not like anything was due, i just wanted it to be done. weird.

this'll pay off eventually, right?

oh yeah, and i did laundry finally the other day, and studied in there and had my little nest set up in a little alcove. and i saw simon! (have i mentioned i'm calling the Boy with the Gorgeous Eyes from Upstairs Simon? I think I have.) but only for a brief moment. he came in to take laundry out of the dryer, glanced briefly at me (i smiled and was about the say hi) but then he practically ran out. what the fuck! i was terribly disappointed. so something tells me this crush is going to be yet another bust.

but such is life. well -- such is my life.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.