Only 17 and already a bitter alcoholic
2001-06-04 at 9:31 p.m.

Right then.

Went up to Lassen National Park with Joanna again. The day started out beautifully...not only did we leave on time (that is to say, 1 hour after we said we were going to leave) and drove up to Lassen. After stocking up on fuel and Holiday sandwiches, we made the hour-ish long drive up there. Then we made a $10 mandatory donation and drove on to figure out where we were going. We didn't know where we were going, mind you, so we asked this cute couple who were on a road trip from Colorado. Seriously, if I'm ever part of a couple I want to be as cute as this couple was. So we decided that we just follow the highway to get to Juniper Lake, and that we did, after making a few pit stops for scenery. After we got there, we took turns urinating in the woods -- didn't I say I'd try anything once? Note to all you forest peeing virgins: the best way is to find a tree that's fallen down and lean against it, or do a reverse pushup, so it's like you're sitting on a toilet but there's no toilet. This is the least messy way I managed, and it worked pretty damn well. Right, so then we found the trail and started hiking, stopping to wonder about fungi and certain rowboats with mass amounts of spiders inhabitating them. Oh, the trail we were following was supposed to be going all around the lake. We lost the trail a few times, but always found out. Finally, we found a steady trail which lead away from the lake, but we decided to follow it anyway. 4 hours later and one quick napish later, we were back at camp. Or so we thought. Joanna thought that her car was a little further up, so walked a little further along the beach. I have no sense of direction, OR SO I'M TOLD *ahem*, so I decided to follow her lead. Plus, I'm in the worst shape of my life and was completely and utterly pooped, so I was too tired to disagree. So we're walking...and walking...and walking. And then Joanna decides that she KNOWS the car is straight up through the brush, so we start hiking up there. It's not straight up through the brush, but a road is, so we starting walking down the road and then stop and I decide that we're going in the way opposite direction of where we're supposed to be going so me of little direction leads us in the other direction. We come across a half-built house and are very curious because we dont' remember seeing that driving in and then Joanna looks left and is like, "Oh my God, look." And there's her car! We literally -- well, I literally skipped to the car in pure joy of finally being able to eat the aforementioned sandwiches. Seriously, we both wished there had been a camera to tape our joyous reaction. So we swallowed our sandwiches and some cherries and began to drive back. Then I offeredcoughinsisted upon driving and after awhile I started to fall asleep at the wheel. Joanna's car is not very fun to drive. Mine is. Hah! Right, so then she drove the rest of the way through Red Bluff -- why did I almost type Brooklyn? -- and finally got home. We were tired, filthy, and so v. proud of ourselves. Yay us! Oh, and it has been discovered that I have the worst sunburn lines: a backpack/tank top line and a red triangle-shaped glasses line. My cheeks are blushing sunburned. It'll turn into a tan soon...right? I took a half hour shower, scrubbing every bit of me to get of the hated dirt. Now I smell like peaches and my hair looks glorious and where is my knight in shining armour to sweep me off my feet?

Hm?

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.