Another Work Day Highlight
01 February 2011 at 1:33 pm

I've been consuming a lot of coconut.

So much that I spent an afternoon calling all the grocery stores to find the cheapest young thing. How pervy.

$2 at Albertsons across from the boyfriend's place.

After going there every day for a week, I finally admitted my obsession and bought five.

Every evening, I chop it open. I'm getting pretty good at it. The first time, I spilled the water everywhere. Heartbreaking. Now I can do it in three chops with a butcher knife.

Some days, I chug all the water in one solid gulp before I even have time to think about making coconut milk.

Usually, I have some restraint, and spoon out all the fat and blend it with the water for several minutes.

Sometimes I'll save it for the next morning and add a half a frozen banana, a half a pear, a cup of chopped chard, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and a handful of walnuts.

Sometimes I'll add a tablespoon of soaked chia seeds.

That's what I did this morning, blending it all together for one delicious, creamy, fatty breakfast.

I thought I had finished the last sip, but I just moved my cup and saw there was more and squealed in the middle of a conference call about receivables.

I did not explain myself, but I did put the phone on mute.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.