A Multilingual Non-Compliment
18 August 2010 at 7:41 pm

It comes up at some point during the weekend, in between breakfast in bed and massages and a lot of giggling and take-out and showers and mimosas and sundaes and whipped cream.

He had said, "I can't believe you're single."

Is this just something guys say, like when they ask what your nationality is or say that you have pretty eyes? Just something to fill the time between kissing you and checking out who else they might want to kiss?

I've heard it before, in multiple languages, no less.

One time, on a warm night in Costa Rica: "�Por que no tienes un novio?"

"�Porque no quiero!"

It was the only foreign sentence I spoke confidently that night.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.