Ain't I A Woman (3/5)
01 July 2010 at 9:25 pm

My mother, my icon of logic and equality, my anchor of authority, my bastion of all that is honorable, is coaching me through my bad days at work.

"Did you notice how there are no $100,000 bonus checks being cut to women?"

There are $100,000 checks being cut to men. I just wrote one today.

(Money, lest we forget, is power, and power is freedom. Part of me wants to be wrong. Most of me accepts capitalism as an ideal in an imperfect world.)

"That's what you can have," she told me.

Ding!: If somebody else is, there's no reason I couldn't, either.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.