What's mine is mine, and you can't have any.
01 April 2010 at 4:07 pm

Taste is the most selfish of all the senses. When I see something, I don't diminish the object by viewing it. When I smell something, I don't take the aroma away with me. When I touch something, I usually leave a bit of myself behind. My hearing something doesn't trap the sound waves or in way inhibit your ability to hear it.

But taste: you can't taste what I taste. It's gone, forever adulterated by enzymes and teeth, and even if you could, somehow, eat the very same fava bean leaf pesto toast with a poached egg on top, just as we could see the very same sunset, smell the very same jasmine, pet the very same bunny, hear the exact same performance, you might not like it as well as I did.

And even when we do share the same experiences, there's no accounting for how we actually experience them. Just because we both recognize red doesn't mean my red is your red.

It's a lonely life, but I like it better this way.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.