A Phenomenon
24 March 2010 at 4:19 pm

Several men, some of whom I know, some of whom I don't, one of whom was just some guy walking around the resort in Tahoe who presented his recommendation as an aside to my mother and I in the middle of a conversation with someone else and did not invite us to the conversation before or after interrupting himself, have been compelled to recommend the movie "Julie and Julia" to me. I think it's because I'm a chick.

Every woman I talk to really, distinctly didn't like it.

I've already seen it, anyway. It's unfortunate that Amy Adams' character is based on the author of the memoir, because she has no redeeming qualities in the film.

The Julia Child bits were fun, if forgettable.

I'm nursing a theory that the fact that men seem to love this movie has to do with their mommy issues, what with all the sumptuous food being prepared, but I can't quite get there.

Or maybe it's just that men want women to cook more, and by recommending this movie, we will be thusly inspired.

Any thoughts?

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.