A Magnetic Zeo 5/7
11 March 2010 at 3:20 pm

I am cashless, phoneless, keyless, and wearing 5 inch heels and a fucking knit cardigan like I wasn't gonna be walking a mile in the rain or something, but I have made this walk before, alone, later at night, and I know I will be okay.

I make it a block before I decide that I am okay, but I will be better if I take off my heels, and then I start running, not because I'm scared -- I live in Santa Barbara, "Land of A Thousand Bored Cops" -- but I am really starting to feel sorry for myself at this point and I want the experience to be over more quickly.

So I run.

Barefoot.

Through the rain. Carrying leopard print wedge heels. Crying pathetically, rivers of mascara forging new paths down my cheeks.

I got home, retrieved my hidden house key, sent out an email to a few people to try to get some phone numbers of friends who could help the next day (remember, no cell phone), and collapsed into bed, wondering how in the hell I would get to work the next day.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.