Growing up all over the place
28 January 2010 at 4:09 pm

Im in the process of being offered a full-time position at my newest job, the shipping distribution company. Everything about it is something to be grateful for. It's a real job, 9-6, hour lunch break, 401k, full benefits, paid vacation, low-key office, free coffee, 3 blocks away from the beach, 6 minute commute, semi-flexible schedule.

I asked for 48k, which, would be less cash in my pocket but with all the benefits, would be a bump on what I'm making now between my four other jobs, and it's also a decent salary for the AR/AP work I'd be doing. The only reason I'm not jumping through the roof is because it would destroy my soul, but I'm not sure it's worth more than that anymore anyway.

I don't know why I can stand doing the work I do throughout the day. I wouldn't be doing anything different at this one job than at the three places I work during the day, except that I would be stuck at one place for 40 hours a week, and the little things, they start to grate, and all of a sudden I'll get angry about the pants other people wear. Seriously; the last time I worked full-time in an office, there was this pair of green velour pants this chick wore, and I took them very, very personally.

I like to diversify my life like I diversify my investments. The psychological bonus to that is I don't have to care about any of my jobs right now because if I dislike any of them, I can walk away, and that freedom and apathy has kept me sane for these past few years. I would be giving that up, and that's my favorite part about my life.

But maybe it's time to grow up and start hating my job like everyone else. It's not like I have anything better to do.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.