"They criticize us to create this relation to us"
14 November 2009 at 12:03 pm

The last time Euliza contacted me for lunch, I was counting on her lack of follow-through when I gave a still hesitant, "Sure!" (Sure's the word I use when I'm not, but still want to be normal and sociable.) Still, I wrote it on the calendar, contemplated calling her when the day passed by without any sort of contact, and let it slip, like so many things to, into the "Phew" folder of my life, a subfolder of "What if?" under the "Dodging Bullets" category.

This morning, I was laying in bed smirking along with Michael Ian Black, when she texted me inviting me to brunch. "Sure!" I thought. "What time?" I texted. If nothing else, it would give me something to write about, not that life hasn't been insane, but the best thing I've been able to come up with lately is ... see, I couldn't even come up with something remotely interesting or relevant. (All of my passion is going into being in love, which is what I wanted to avoid all along.)

Twenty minutes, during which I am frantically cleaning up my place and properly caffeinating myself, Euliza is asking if Deanna can come too. "Fuck," I think. "Sure!" I text. Now I'll definitely have something to write about.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.