Manipulative Me
03 September 2009 at 2:54 pm

The thing with Kristie is, she'll say something like, "You've been so busy with your new best friend, [the coworker]." First of all, she's 27, not 12. Second of all:

I respond, "Oh, jealous, are we? Like you haven't been in Boyland for the past two months." Like every time I've invited her somewhere she hasn't been busy with her boyfriend or her boyfriend's friends. At least I have the decency to keep my petty jealousy to myself, to turn it towards something productive like making a new friend, absolutely my least favorite thing to do.

It was with this in mind that I subconsciously mistexted her. Intending to text her roommate about the apartment opening up in my building (namely, mine -- I am moving upstairs, hurrah!), I sent her the text instead -- knowing full well that she and her roommate had planned to sign the lease for another year at the end of this month.

She texted me a curt reply to let me know the text had not reached its intended audience, and I responded a few hours later clarifying that I was merely passing along the information, not because of a recent query, but out of consideration for a conversation we'd had months prior. Plus, the poor roommate is about to sign up for a year of living in a garage. An unfinished garage. For $850 a month.

I know this is the sort of thing that is none of my fucking business. I also know this is the kind of thing that is going to fester at Kristie, drive her crazy, force her to create unnecessary drama with the roommate without harming my circumstances (perhaps in the short term I will shiver from Kristie's cold shoulder), and I'm trying to decide if I did it accidentally on purpose.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.