"Just reach inside yourself and find the part that still needs help, find that part in someone else"
02 July 2009 at 2:40 pm

I could have said it when he gave me the vintage aprons, two of them, one in yellow and one in pink.

Or when we were lying in bed most recently

and I said I have been thinking about you a lot and us a lot
and he said yeah
and I said this is hard can you just say it for me
and he said I am not going to make it so easy for you

so I stopped talking.

On our first real date, sitting in the booth at Roy that faces the Greyhound station, giggling and holding hands and arms and legs draped around each other, driving the petulant waiter nuts with our indecision. I probably would have said it then, years ago, but I'm wiser now.

Esp was all, "You just have to let it slip out." A week later, she asked me what happened, and I said that it hadn't slipped out yet, and she said, "No, Morgan, I meant, YOU still have to consciously say it, but you don't have to make it this big production." I thought she meant it was supposed to come up accidentally.

I apologize for being high-maintenance, but I'm not going to make it so easy for him, either.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.