My Mumsies
10 May 2009 at 11:54 am

"You want to know what it's like to be a judge? For my mom, at least, she's a judge first. Before she's a mother, before she's a wife, before she's a daughter or a sister, especially before she's a friend, she is a judge. She is very aware of how her words, actions, and the people she surrounds herself with affect her public persona. Everything she says goes through a series of mental calculations that determine how it will affect the perceptions of those around her, even those who aren't there. She's vigilant about destroying everything in her life that might reveal her true self to the outside world, which is really unfortunate.

"Because when she's my mom, she's vulnerable, she's funny, she's silly, she's powerful, she's wistful, she's aware of her failings but she accepts them and moves on. She's flawlessly generous. She's brave without overshadowing anyone. But when she is a judge, she is a pillar of morality and ethics. She is a vault of logic and reason. She is magnificently intimidating. She is impeccably omnipotent.

"That's what it's like to be a judge."

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.