100 Seconds of Solitude
29 April 2009 at 2:08 pm

You do this, right? Get home after a long day that isn't over yet and sit in your driveway or garage or wherever you park before you get home, and just sit, quietly, with the car off, maybe the seat belt off, maybe not, for minutes of solitude and silence, no cell phone, no Modest Mouse CD (even though it is still chill-inducing several years after you stole it from your roommate's boyfriend), no email, no dishes, no computers, no chores, no bed reminding you of the sleep you're not getting, no piles of projects waiting patiently for you to be inspired, no guilt, no shame, no happiness, no ecstasy, no I should be, no Why don't I, no Maybe it's time to. Just peace.

Just you, sitting in your car, breathing, eyes open but not looking at anything, car tick-tickering, settling down, hanging onto those few moments before your life becomes a neverending series of musts and wants and needs all over again.

You should do this, if you don't already.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.