Make me feel like I'm the one who's moving you
09 March 2009 at 11:57 pm

I could rock to the rhythm, I could bop to the beat of the radio, but how could that possibly compare to feeling like I'm the one who's moving you?

Kings of Leon is coming to the Santa Barbara Bowl, which is thrilling.

More importantly, I have tickets to see Kings of Leon at the Santa Barbara Bowl, which is a major cause for celebration.

I prefer a smaller venue -- The Glass House in Pomona, for example, or what I guess is now called El Corazon in Seattle, or Bimbo's 365 in San Francisco. (West Coast, represent). (Any good DC shows next week? k, who left a comment, even though I don't know which k it was, thanks for your advice a bit back--I will be hitting all of those spots on my forthcoming voyage.)

Death Cab for Cutie is a much different experience with a few hundred people than it is with a few thousand people, as it was when I saw them at the Key Arena in Seattle during Bumbershoot (my faaaaaavorite music festival), as it will be when I see them with the LA Philharmonic at the Hollywood Bowl, but nothing will beat The Dismemberment Plan opening for Death Cab at the Glass House, for sure.

I don't think I would be a fan of The Libertines if I hadn't seen them with tens of other people at The Crocodile Cafe, because they weren't nearly as fun when I saw them at The Fillmore with thousands of other people.

I've never been to the Bowl, which is ridiculous for how long I've lived here, but everyone swears to me that it's amazing. I'm not much for being one of the thousands of anchovies, undulating casually to a cacophony. I get claustrophobic (one time, some guy helped me crowdsurf out of a Weezer concert because I was having a panic attack -- I think it's a short girl thing). I get annoyed (I hate being reminded of my lack of special snowflakedom). I can't see the band for the giants who stand in front of me, I can't hear the music for the fangirlz' screaming, and, to paraphrase 30 Rock, "We, as a collective whole, may not smell so great."

I'm still crazy excited for the show. Kings of Leon is all I've listened to these past few months (HYPERBOLE).

If I could somehow arrange for The Blakes, Dr. Dog, and Rogue Wave to cruise through town, I would be absolutely explode from the perfection that is sb's music scene. I wouldn't mind seeing She & Him again, either. HINT.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.