2009, I guess
06 January 2009 at 3:31 pm

In an ideal situation, the following will happen:

By the end of the week: call investment banker to file paperwork to double monthly IRA contributions. Also, thank him for sound investments. I also need to convince one of my bosses to give me health insurance for free, with some dental if I'm feeling particularly negotiatey.

By the end of the month: replace the $600 a month I make working Wednesdays at the bar with income, ideally, from writing in one way or another. Suggestions wholeheartedly welcomed.

By February: convince my boss to renew my gym membership.

By May: contribute $350 a month to my emergency savings account, the balance of which will be up to $4000. My credit card arbitrage* project will be over, so I'll be on the lookout for a new way to effortlessly make a few hundred dollars.

I'll go to New York in January, skiing somewhere in February, DC in March, and Morocco in June.

By the end of the year, I'll have read fifty books.

By the end of the year: figure out how to focus on and flaunt my strengths, as opposed to attempting to strengthen my weaknesses.

*Do people know what this is? I have near perfect credit, and so I still get 0% balance transfer options for credit cards. Through some fancy financial finagling, I was able to take advantage of those offers and found myself with $8000, minus the capped $99 cash advance fee, of free money. I transferred the money into a high-yield savings account and made a couple hundred dollars for a little bit of research. Comment or email if you want more details.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.