Sit And Wonder Why
04 January 2009 at 4:19 pm

It was a good weekend, I guess, in spite of everything.

The first day of the year tends to foreshadow the rest of the year. What you choose to focus on that day is what you will focus on for the rest of the year. Last year, it was having flight of fancy adventures, and also, proving to everyone that I can Help My Fucking Self, THANKS.

Of course, the first day of the year is also a completely arbitrary day that varies depending on one's cultural and religious beliefs. I felt a lot better about everything after I thought about it like that, that if I didn't have a calendar, it would have just been a bad day, not a bay day that foreshadows 364 more bad days.

And then marvelous things started happening.

I was attacked by a dog, but then two days later, walking past the same house, the same dog running after me, a man dashed out of his car to help me. After assuring me that the dog is friendly, but seeing I was still petrified, he walked me past the dog (who is territorial, not vicious) to the end of the block and then asked if I was okay.

When I backed into a rock, the neighbor and owner of the rock came out to see what the noise was. I was trying to figure out what to do and he offered to move the rock for me so it was out of my way, and off I went.

If I spent the last year learning how to help myself, I suppose this is can be the year I learn how to receive help.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.