Thanksgiving Eve Poem
27 November 2008 at 3:22 am

Someone asked one time, "Why do you have two doormats?" I replied, "They were just there." I inherit doormats.

Off work and at home at 3am, having worked since 10am, Ray Charles and I shared a lovely duet en route.

The top doormat was flipped upside down when I came home.

A neighbor was outside in her ivory-white nightie, giving a coquettish goodbye to someone.

There is puke in front of my apartment, not the building, but my front door, and someone had the common courtesy to flip over the soiled mat.

Now I don't have anything to wipe my feet on except for concrete.

Just like last year: sweet potato pie baking begins at 3am.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.