Fix It
30 July 2008 at 4:37 pm

It�s just a bad day, okay? It started off not great, and despite your efforts to push it into mediocre day territory, it is just a bad day.

It�s the type of day that finds you waking up with at least eight spider bites all over your body, swollen in sizes ranging from the mouth of a bottle of Anchor Steam to the coasters upon which you might set that beer.

That�s a problem. I could get upset. I could rant and rave and scream and yell. But instead, I throw my sheets in the wash, take several deep breaths, and apply anti-itch ointment where necessary.

Alright, dealt with that little annoyance sans hysterics and foul language. Off to the shower.

It�s the type of day that spends 20 minutes on the phone scheduling an appointment to get your 3-year-old washer fixed (the problem being that it won�t drain; the problem being that you just threw your only two sets of sheets in there), only to find out it will cost $150 just to have someone tell you what the problem is.

That�s a problem. I could get upset. I could rant and rave and scream and yell. But instead, I cancel the appointment and spend the rest of the day researching how to fix it myself. (Estimated time and cost: maybe 20 minutes to install it, $22 for the part).

Alright, dealt with that little speedbump maturely and economically. Off to work, only 30 minutes late, only slightly itchy, not as financially inconvenienced as I could be.

It�s the type of day that spends 45 minutes hearing about how the business you work for is losing tens of thousands of dollars and it�s no one�s fault and no one can do anything about it.

That�s a problem. I could get upset. I could rant and rave and scream and yell, or my boss could. But instead, we shrug, and I get back to fielding phone calls from angry customers confused as to why we won�t let them give us money.

It�s the type of day that has a cloud of doom hanging over it from the inevitable talking to you�re going to get from your other boss for problems that you�re not even sure you�re supposed to be aware of, that you feel responsible for but aren�t really, and there�s nothing you can do about it, but people keep calling you about it and talking to you about it except for the person who has the issue who refuses to call or talk to you about it, and you�re just not sure how to handle the situation, if you should be proactive and attack the situation before she has a chance to bring it up or wait for her to see how she brings it up with you. Because at worst, you stand to be accused of stealing, and at best, you�re going to be asked to tattle. You�re also going to have to take verbal abuse from someone whose business philosophy is, �It�s not business, it�s personal.�

That�s a problem. I could get upset. I could rant and rave and scream and yell, or my boss could. But instead, I will recognize that my jobs are disposable and I don�t need any of them, not to the point at which I would sacrifice my values and my dignity (ok, scratch that last bit, my dignity is 100% for sale). I�ve never been fired from a job before, and I don�t intend to start now, but the bottom line is, I can�t possibly stress about something that, for all intents and purposes, is completely out of my hands. Ultimately, their need for me far exceeds my need for them.

I should really be on my way any time now anyway.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.