Out of Context
10 July 2008 at 4:40 pm

"Let the pain guide you."

Three guesses what this is in reference to. Here's a hint: this was something that was said to me, because the day those words leave my mouth in that order is the day you shoot me in the fact. Clues hidden throughout.

My cousin is bearing the child of a boy who does not "believe" in the global warming "theory." Also, he's kind of a big fat jerkface.

My great-grandfather was an electrician by trade and an executioner by design.

According to the scale at the doctor's office, I've lost 9 pounds since my last visit a month ago.

My mother and I cannot spend more than two consecutive days together before we both go batshit insane.

Oh, and I have to wear this FUCKING cast for ANOTHER FUCKING MONTH.

I'm going to L.A. next weekend to see Wolf Parade, which is fucking fantastic, with Kristie, which makes it even better. Also, DG called me beautiful last night.

I gave up my original flight to the family reunion in Illinois to spend time with a lovely lady I know from here whose diary is locked. Per everyone's expectations, a blast was had. Then Derrick H@rt picked me up from hers at 6am to take me out to breakfast and drop me off at the airport. Sometimes you need to sit back and let life happen.

I mean, the series of events that leads to being stranded, for all intents and purposes, in Denver, having crepes at a diner with a musician who works for the rehab facility where he was a patient a few years back who lived with you for a month in San Francisco even further back, hungover from partying with someone who knows everything about you but whom you'd never met before, who changed her whole night around just to hang out with you, that's the kind of shit when I'm like, yeah, I could let the pain guide me. But then I would just be focusing on the misery, and so far, with this fucking broken foot, I've traipsed around the jungle of Costa Rica, I've wine tasted in Napa, I've stayed up for two days straight traveling to and around San Francisco two weekends in a row, I've jumped in the ocean, you know, the one just down the road from my house, fully clothed for absolutely no reason, and that's in between working three jobs. And, you know, if I hadn't done any of that stuff I'd probably be out of this cast, but I'd also be hideously bored and drearily boring. The pain I can handle, but if I ever again say in response to someone's query about what I've been up to that it's the same old thing, something went horribly wrong. So I'm just gonna go ahead and let life guide me where it will, and in the meantime, I'm off to the store to buy some spraypaint so my cast can match my green hair.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.