Geo-rgeous
18 February 2008 at 12:21 am

Geo's and my nights out consist of us congratulating ourselves for being so fantastic for anywhere between one and five hours. That's a bit of an abrupt change from going out with Euliza, Katie, and Deanna, heretoforth known as The Old Gang, with whom I would spend anywhere between one and thirty-six hours complaining about myself and the people I loved through raucous, tequila-fueled rants.

Geo and I, both of us whiskey drinkers, usually start our nights out with a shot of whoever has the best whiskey on hand before we wander over the Merc and proceed to laugh hysterically while coming up with Brilliant Ideas that quickly become Not So Brilliant Actions. One time, it was shotgunning Tecate at 3am while Pav closed the bar down. Saturday night, it was traipsing through Old Town Goleta in search of a decent shot of whiskey. I tend to wake up the next morning with the following thought in my head: "Why was that a good idea?" It's not so much regret as much as curiosity. It seemed so crucial at the time, for reasons that will never make sense again. Therein lies the beauty to what might otherwise be a very ugly series of events.

I am a dive bar sort of girl and I have been in some seedy places, but this one is absolutely the worst place I've ever experienced (and I've been to bars in Pekin, Illinois). We grabbed one shot of horrible whiskey and literally ran away screaming and laughing hysterically. On the ride home, somebody, somehow, at some point suggested throwing our vibrators on top of Jason, who was currently sleeping on the couch. Why was this such a fantastic idea? What could have prompted us to do such a thing? I can't even begin to fathom why we ever would have jumped to that logical conclusion, and then followed through on it, but that's what happened.

Other stuff happened that night, none of which has any bearing on the present or the future and thus, I will not deign to bore you with the misadventures of one Ms. B--. Suffice it to say that it turns out that I'm a lot of fun and I need to not be ashamed of making the sort of mistakes that I'm making right now. It's nothing original.

In other news, absolutely everything is pissing me off right now, especially this text from Pav: "How very tiresome" [in response to his query as to whether or not we were going out that night and I demurred, citing a wicked hangover].

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.