Nature of the Experiment
30 January 2008 at 7:57 pm

Thank you, PDX, for the free wifi.

I'm sitting in the Portland airport waiting for my return flight to Santa Barbara. It was a perfect weekend away, and just in the nick of time, as these things tend to be. Good food, good talks with the father, great times with the Michelle, decent birth control in the way of Michelle's two kids (Michelle wondered what my method of birth control was after I lambasted the pill's effect on my body; "Uh, abstinence?" I duh'd at her), fun nighty-night out at the Doug Fir Lounge, gin gimlets aplenty, shopping (including a fabulous new hat that gets me compliments everywhere I go), a meeting with my dad's childhood friend, and sleep! O lord, the sleep! I didn't realize how utterly fucked my sleep schedule was until I couldn't sleep through the night.

...

And now that I am 100% back in reality, beginning the Great Detox of 2008, I am right back to that thin (heh) level of existence that gets me through the days. I was going to try to get to Monterey this weekend, but the work meeting on Sunday dashed those hopes. I keep forgetting that I'm taking the LSATs again on Saturday (on the offchance that I score higher without any preparation whatsoever, as opposed to the half-assed -- nay, quarter-assed prep I did the first time around). It was the only time for the next two months I was going to be able to travel to see Esp (although she may "surprise" me with a Valentine's Day Weekend visit ohpleaseohpleaseohplease). Aside from work, there's a show scheduled for almost every Saturday until March, when I'm off to New York. I really need to start saving my money anyway. I gave myself a month for free-for-all spending and need to get everything back on track: my weight, my body image, my self-esteem, my house fund. It's so telling how much money affects my life; I feel better about everything and am skinnier when I keep my finances in check, but once I let that go, oh man. I have never been this fat in my entire life. Thus: detox! Yes, the trendy one that everyone tried for three hours and then gave up on (JOEL). I don't know how well I'm going to pull it off, but I'm visually all the clothes I can't wear anymore and how cute they're going to look in ten pounds.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.