Some Nerve! Part 2
24 January 2008 at 3:28 am

Mark is a guy who's been coming into the bar for months and we've always had a sorta friendship going on: I was happy to see him and talk to him as a customer, but not so thrilled with his existence that I would pursue anything beyond the normal barkeep-patron relationship. That's nothing against him, it's just a rule I have. I don't hook up with, date, hang out with, or otherwise engage in any sort of relationship with anyone I meet while working at the bar. It's just tacky. Anyway, he'd moved away and was back in town for the long weekend, so I kept him well-served as a courtesy to a formerly regular customer, and he ended up hanging out late night with Pav, Samantha, her new interest Julian, and myself. Eventually, Pav passed out, Samantha and Julian were snuggled up, and Mark and I were still up bullshitting, sharing jokes, him telling me where to go and where to avoid when I go to Costa Rica in June (tickets booked, eee!). At one point, he asked me if I had ever been cheated on or if I had ever cheated on anybody. That's a bit of a strange question in hindsight, yes?

As Mark and I were talking innocently, just two friends chatting at a bar, Julian woke up and said, "Bye, guys," and after I let him out, Mark said, "That was really weird. He's a really nice guy." Yeah, it's weird when you're making out with somebody all night, you both pass out, and then they wake up at 6:30am and decide they have to leave Right Then with no explanation. That's bizarre.

I guess I should clarify that, while I have been working in the public sector long enough to smalltalk and bullshit proficiently, it's rare that I find myself in a conversation worth having. Because I am a snob, I will generally end the discussion point blank. Naturally interesting talks with boys don't come my way all that often -- I mean, do they really come anyone's way more than every other blue moon or am I just that much of a bitch? -- so I was grateful for the stimulation. Also, he's supercute omg!

Samantha woke up soon after and decided to jet as well. Mark and I took over the couch and snuggled and he said, "Do you think it would be alright if I kissed you tomorrow morning?" "Um...do you mean this morning tomorrow morning? Like right now?" "No, tomorrow morning. Saturday morning." "Yeah, that would be alright, I guess." I rolled over, clearly not about to get any anytime soon, and decided to go to sleep. Mark got up to do something and I grabbed his shirt, gave him a, "Aaaand it's 7am, we've been talking for 5 hours, so I have permission to do whatever I want" look and kissed him. And then we made out for awhile. And fell asleep. Pav woke me up at 10am to let me know he was leaving, and I got up at that point to finish up closing stuff while Mark slept.

I drove us to a coffee shop and he bought me some Turkish coffee (kind of ridiculous in its tar-like quality, but necessary after 3 hours of sleep). I dropped him off, he got my number and said we would hang out later in the weekend.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.