Just had to take it on the chin
26 December 2007 at 9:08 pm

I'll focus strictly on the past for the next few entries, but for now, I was to talk about the future.

2008 is supposed to be a great year for Capricorns, according to my coworker, Suzanne, who is way into this stuff. When I say "great year," I mean in the fiscal sense, as business and money make the world go round for us fair goats. So far, it seems to be true; her ex-husband is buying out her share of the house she's been trying to sell all year, so she'll have over half a million to start her life over; I am completely and utterly out of debt so all of that gorgeous cash I rake in every day will be mine, mine, mine!

2008 is also going to be a great year for travel. I'm going to Portland in January to visit my dad and Karen; I might be going to Savannah in February with Euliza, because neither of us have ever been; I'm going to New York in March to visit Joanna's new apartment (and Joanna) (and fucking Slegg, and you'd better be in town, you buttbag); and I'm going to Costa Rica in June with my brother and whoever else wants to go (want to go? Contact me!).

2008 is the year I'm going to go to law school. I say that like there's not a chance I won't get in; there is a very high chance I won't be accepted to my top choices, but it's sort of one of those fate things that, like, it's just the way it's going to be.

2008 is also the year I'm going to buy a condo. My mom and Stuart and I talked about it this weekend, and I have enough money to cover half a down payment for a decent condo in somewhere like...Sacramento! The parents said they would cover the other half, and also be co-signers (since the majority of my income is under the table--shh!--I would have a hard time qualifying for a loan, even with my perfect credit). This is great news on several levels; first of all, it gives me a reason to move somewhere, even if that somewhere is Sacramento; second, it's what I really, really want, is to own property and get that part of my life started. It's nice to want something again.

2008 is going to be a shitty year for love, but I am going to lose this weight before Portland (my dad can't see me like this or I'll want to kill myself--he'll make fun of me for being fat, as opposed to my mom, who just bites her lip and looks at me pityingly...if only they knew). Rather telling that I associate love with weight gain/loss, yes? I can't imagine anyone could care about me when I have pounds to lose. Thanks, parents!

My brother's on his way to pick me up so we can hit the town--which means stopping at his friends' houses to get high and have a beer before dragging ourselves home to watch whatever's on HBO.

I realized driving into Redding today how strange it is to grow up in northern California. I grew up within an hour of two volcanoes, two ski mountains, two huge lakes, several great national parks, and that's just so...it's just bizarre for someone to have taken that so for granted for my entire life and to have it be a revelation now considering I spent the last several years living in metropolitan cities and Santa Barbara, where the ocean reigns supreme. Come to think of it, I'm sure I'll feel that way about Santa Barbara when I move back inland.

That thing I wrote to Johnny Fuckface that one time, about going home...it's so true: "Does that happen to you, when you go back to where you're from and as much as you've changed, everything is the same, and somehow that is enough to make terrifying decisions possible?"

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.