Let's get together, we'll kill ourselves!
03 December 2007 at 6:17 pm

I can't get over The Ponys. I really can't. I've tried. Aaron told me to download them, and since he knows me better than anyone ever, I listened, and I haven't stopped yet. It's been two weeks; I think I'm addicted.

Pav makes fun of me for how much I love Brit pop, which is basically the same as the pop shit churned out over here, except it's British and therefore, somehow, where the pop shit here is shit, the pop there becomes awesome. I think it has something to do with the international date line (that's an inside joke with Katie, remember?). Also, The Libertines, oh, I could write pages about them. ANYWAY, he plays Pulp for me whenever I visit him on Saturday nights, which is more often than not now, which is nice. Last weekend, Euliza had the good grace to join me, which meant, of course, that I spent the whole of Sunday recuperating from that, as well as from taking the LSATs Saturday morn. I think I'd earned that bottle of petite syrah.

Music is a big part of my bartending job, since I play DJ when I'm working and more often than not, people fall in love with my for my music selection than my personality (which means I can fall back on Bitch Bartender Morgan more often than not). I oscillate between the CDs Zac made for me of little-known soul brilliance and happy little playlists I make for myself consisting of everything from The Animals to Fugazi (which always brings out the nostalgia like whoa) to Andrew Bird to Jens Lekman to, you know, like, The Aggrolites, who are playing not this Friday but the next on my shift, that's going to be a moneymaker. The Clash is often featured heavily, and no one else gets it, but I can't stop listening to King Khan and the Shrines. The Kinks are my go-to mood lifters; seriously, if you don't know anything more about them than "You Really Got Me," get thee to iTunes, sister. People will always dance to Link Wray, even though we aren't a dancey place; Modest Mouse is good when I'm ready for everyone to calm the fuck down; Pinback is good for college night; Stiff Little Fingers is good when things are getting a little too angry but I need to keep the energy up; I can always fall back on The White Stripes when I just don't feel like putting forth any effort.

I have my reasons for going into all this, but not yet.

I have a barbecue to go to, but I seriously can't walk away from this song. Damn you, Ponys!

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.