Old Black and Blue Eyes
15 November 2007 at 2:51 am

I don't need anybody else to know how stunning the stars are at 3am when I get off work and the rest of the world is asleep. I don't need to share that moment, when I'm free from responsibility, after I lock up the back gate, before I get in the car and head home to recuperate, let Damien out, gear myself up for going to sleep, kind of the most grueling part of my days these days, when I look up to see what the stars look like when the lights are out -- that moment is mine, when I can identify the things I can identify, like Cassiopeia, my personal favorite since before I knew what was what in the universe, for almost no reason except, now, this: "To learn humility Cassiopeia was banned to the sky hanging half of the time head downward." Sometimes I think my existence as a whole is a lesson in humility, but it's less a result of my actions, which are tame by comparison to many, and more the effect of leading myself to believe that I am subpar in every aspect of life in order to work harder at everything.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.