Letter to Katie
18 September 2007 at 2:47 pm

I've cut people out of my life before. One person, actually, Cheyenne, who lied about being a lesbian to see who her real friends were and, being her best friend, I was hugely insulted she would feel the need to test me. This was in 8th grade. Also, I was leaving for boarding school, so it was easier just to stop talking to her. Last I heard, she was in a work-release program in our hometown.

I'm not strong enough to deal with what's going on with Katie right now. I mean, I can deal with whatever it's going to take to keep her away from the guy who hurt her so badly a few weeks ago the bruises still haven't faded, but I cannot watch her put herself in the line of fire again and again. So I'm giving her this letter tonight, after telling her on Saturday that I can't be a part of her life if he's a part of her life, and then I think I'm losing my best friend. Good times in Santa Barbara. I'm moving after I take the LSATs in February, money be damned.

Dear Katie,

I've been agonizing over this for months now. Jared has been a toxic influence on your life since I've known you, and though I tried to be supportive of your decisions when I thought it was merely a matter of emotional instability, that he threatens your person is a clear sign he cannot, in any capacity, be a part of your life. As much as I want to respect your decisions, there are no other options in this situation. I was crying and screaming in frustration last night over this--I cannot watch you get hurt, physically or emotionally, by this person again. I will do absolutely anything to prevent this, but ultimately, it has to be your decision. When you're really, truly ready to cut him completely out of yoru life, I will be there. Until then, I cannto wait around for the next timehe abuses you. I know you are strong enough and brave enough, that you know you're better than this, that you're fucking terrified and confused and lost, but you have got to make a decision and have the conviction to fucking stick to it and move on. Tell your parents what happened. Let Jenny and Deanna and Euliza and your sister and I help you through this. I'll be there when you're ready, but I refuse to watch one of my favorite people put herself in danger over and over again. I love you too much.

--Morgan

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.