The Real SB
10 September 2007 at 3:36 pm

It will probably be a few days until the next Johnny-centric entry, so here's what's been going on recently in the drama-filled town of Santa Barbara:

One of my friends has decided to leave her kid with her parents and move back in with her husband who cheats on her with transsexuals.

Another was beat up by her now-ex-boyfriend, the one who came out as bisexual a few months ago.

Another invited her on-again/off-again girlfriend to move from Texas to here and then broke up with her a week and a half later...after sleeping with my girlfriend who was visiting from San Francisco while the rest of us were passed out after a day of drinking at the beach. The ex-girlfriend is now unemployed and homeless, so she's been staying with me.

And I've been drinking too much, smoking way too much pot, gaining weight but running 3-5 miles a day, and just having a fucking great time doing it: having the cops show up at our midnight dinner party, drinking mimosas on the beach all day long, having a golddiggers night in which we only have a drink if someone else pays for it, hanging out after hours at my bar...this is what Santa Barbara does to a girl. I resisted for two years and now I'm single for the first time in my adult life and I think I've gotten it all out of my system. I haven't even kissed a guy since Spain, I'm just having fun with my girlfriends, and we all desperately need to go a little crazy right now to remind ourselves why we stay sane most of the time.

I went out on a date with a friend of a friend on Saturday, my first date EVER. I was scrimmage dating; there was no chemistry, and we were set up by our mutual friends for a very specific reason having nothing to do with each other (he's in love with her/she's a lesbian and wanted to distract him with somebody else/I needed a practice date), and I had a nice time, a good meal, and am now over my phobia of dating.

Then I went out and got trashed with Katie and the now-ex-girlfriend of the friend who invited her to move out here. We ended up at the Mercury late night, smoking outside with a few guys who have been coming in on my shifts, and I think? I maybe agreed to go out with one of the guys this weekend to the Modest Mouse concert at the Bowl? But then we didn't exchange numbers so I kind of blew it off? And then he totally myspace stalked me so maybe that's on? He's cute and I really do want to go to that show. So that would be fun. Woo! Single Morgan is awesome and in demand!

I can't fucking believe I've lived in Santa Barbara for two years and will be living here for another year. This is the longest I have lived anywhere since I was TWELVE. Oh, and did I mention I've decided to go to law school? It's just one of those things you wake up and do, after all. More on that later.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.