Because I'm Worth It
20 June 2007 at 12:05 am

Friday night, K and D came over...mostly just 'cause. We drank and we giggled and then we drank some more...then we giggled some more. Drinking and giggling occurred, is what I'm saying.

They both slept over, D because she was scared to go home to her crazy just-out-of-rehab ex-girlfriend, K because we promised french toast in the morning if she stayed. There was no french toast in the morning because D had to be at work at 9am, Aaron had to be at work at 11am, and K and I didn't budge until 1pm.

D's birthday is this coming weekend, but K's going to be out of town and I have to work so we decided to throw her a surprise party a week early. Though we had decided to do it a month prior, none of the physical planning (buying of balloons and cakes and calling people to actually, you know, show up) happened until we woke up on Saturday. D was getting off work at 2pm, so we arranged for her boss, E, to take her to the beach at 3pm and somehow find a way to stall (which she did in the form of Border's. Nothing like a bookstore to suck a poet in).

The surprise party was a complete success. When D walked up and saw the GIANT balloon flapping in the wind and we all gave a half-hearted, semi-awkward, "Sur...prise?" she responded, appropriately, with "Surprise!" And then realized that it was her surprise party and maybe teared up a little bit, because what surprise party doesn't remind the surprisee of how much she's loved?

We ended up back at our house that night to play Mario Party late into the evening and woke up Sunday and I made what I have decided is pretty much the best french toast ever. Thanks, Alton Brown!

The rest of the day was dedicated to looking forward to playing Wii at D's, and then we did. Play Wii. It was great, until it was discovered D's crazy just-out-of-rehab ex-girlfriend had strategically placed peanut butter around the house. I don't know if you've ever known anybody with a peanut allergy, but it's pretty intense. Much Benadryl and cussing was involved.

Oh, the other thing we did Sunday: photoshoot with K! She took some pretty fantabulous pictures of Aaron and I, which I will link to when she emails them to me. Suffice it to say, we are both incredibly photogenic. Also, K is incredibly able-minded with the Photoshop.

Last night was date night, with dinner at CPK and dessert at the Mercury, complete with the aforementioned dance party. Tonight was bike riding with K and Sh@rk33z with the girls. Tomorrow is a repeat of tonight. I wish I could make this more interesting to report, but I've kind of been drinking since Friday afternoon and am Wiped. Out.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.