Save My Orchid, and thoughts on other living things
19 April 2007 at 3:23 pm

My boss got me an orchid today for my one-year anniversary. It totally made my day, until I asked him, "So, how do I keep it alive?" and he was like, "I have no idea." So now this poor thing is on a slow, painful journey to death unless someone out there can give me some orchid-loving advice.

Some birds tried to fly into my office today. Well, they didn't so much try as much as they actually did. We have one window that we keep open all the time and it is screenless, so all of a sudden my boss and I heard this screeching and I looked out an unopened window to see what was going on. I couldn't see anything, until I looked over to the opened window and there were two brown birds making a racket on top of the boss' skies. These were apparently highly evolved birds, because they knew to come out the way they came (this has not been my experience with birds stuck inside buildings in the past) and that was the end of that.

Have I talked about the work kitties yet? I keep meaning to. My other coworker here, who comes in once a week, had a cat who had some kittens, and she gave two of them to the business that sits across the parking lot from us (I work in kind of a warehouse district). The kitties (I call one Boots and one Mugsy, but I think they have proper names) wander from building to building, saying hello every few days. For about a week they were missing and I had random people coming over to ask if I knew anything about the kitties. They're kind of a community builder, see. Turns out some guy had called animal control on them, so the owners had to go and pay a good chunk of money to get them back, but now they're making the rounds again. The best part about them is when I go outside for a break, there's always at least one of the guys who drives a forklift all day playing with the kitties. Completely ridiculous.

I was cleaning the windows on my front door last night when I knocked a spider off the window sill. It floated down to the next sill and stared at me calmly while I screamed bloody murder. I contemplated asking my neighbor to dispose of it for me, since I couldn't possibly kill it myself and would have to restrict entrance through my front door until I knew it was properly murdered, but I decided to buck up and dispose of it myself. This involved me going through the back door, grabbing one of Aaron's creepers (with the giant sole, it lessens the creep factor of having to touch a spider with an object connected to myself), poked the spider, and smashed it several times when it fell to the ground. I left the shoe on the front porch, because it had been tainted and I will not be able to touch it again until I forget about this particular experience. Unfortunately, every encounter I have with a spider is a traumatizing event that I don't easily forget. I should really try to start getting over this phobie.

The Emmabear is all better. Oh, and the follow-up with her itchy bum: turns out it was just her little tailnub that gets dirty and consequently itchy. We have to clean it like we clean her bum after a poo and face folds. This dog is way too high-maintenance. It's a good thing she's so uglycute.

I have to work the next two weekends at the bar...Thursday close, Friday close, and the Saturday double in addition to working at L3vi's on Saturday mornings. It should put a minimum of $600 in my pocket (I assume I'm going to make $100 during my shifts, though it's usually more like $150-200), but those shifts are killer. Mentally and physically, you're kicking your ass trying to stay on top of dirty glasses and entertaining drunk patrons and then, after all that is over with and you finally kick the last person out of the bar at 2:30am, you still have at least an hour's worth of work to do, closing the register, tidying up the bar, cleaning the ashtrays, emptying trash, replacing candles, changing kegs, taking out bottles and cans. I've been stuck there until 4 or 5 am just doing the bare minimum, and Aaron's there helping as well. More often than not there's a fellow bartender just hanging out who will help with glasses throughout the night, but on the nights when it's just you, you're exhausted for the next couple of days. Working three closing shifts three nights in a row is ... hard, especially since I have to get to work by 10am the next day.

On a silver lining note, it's so weird that that money is mine and is not going directly to the credit cards...I still haven't adjusted. But this will pay for the first step of the scooter, the paint job, which is definitely the most exciting part.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.