Please Respect My Vagina
21 February 2007 at 8:26 pm

So we're going to Vegas this weekend and my roommates are refusing to take care of the dogs, in spite of having agreed to two months ago when we first asked, and then a month ago when we asked again, and then making up a story about them going out of town, and then when we said we were going to get a housesitter changing their minds and saying only one of them is going out of town...but still won't take care of the dogs. We're kicking them out soon.

Anyway, it would cost $270 to have both dogs boarded, like, that's more than I'm spending on my own hotel room, okay? And because it's such short notice (they told us on Monday; we leave on Friday), we've been scrambling to figure something out. My brother's old roommates, who are awesome aside from this, have offered to take care of Damien since he's a chiller, but I didn't even ask them to take care of Emma because she's a handful. I'm going to beg and plead with my coworker (the one whose girlfriend got us Emma) to take her for the weekend, but otherwise, it's off to the boarding house for her. I feel terrible about it, like I shouldn't even be going if I can't afford to take care of my dogs properly, but at the same time? I need a fucking vacation, and I could have someone to take care proper of my dogs if I didn't have douchebags for roommates who back out on things they've already agreed to without giving us any notice whatsoever.

Girly stuff ahead, stuff you might not want to read if you're a boy or my mom. You've been warned.

I'm not on birth control. Okay? I'm not on birth control, and I'm not going to go back on birth control because the first time I was on the pill, my migraines spun out of control and I gained, like, 30 pounds (well, that might have been the fact that I worked at In-n-Out and ate accordingly, but whatevs). My dermatologist tried to get me to go on birth control, and today when I went to the gyno, he gave me a Look when I said my only form of contraception is condoms. They've served me well the four years I've been with Aaron, and they will continue to do so.

So at the end of the appointment, the guy's like, do you know when you're most likely to get pregnant? And I said around the 15th day of my cycle, and he was like, uh, yeah, between the 12th and 16th. So you should use a second form of birth control during that time, like pulling out or just not having sex. I was like, what?! My gynecologist is recommending the pull-out method, the thing that was hammered into my brain in sex ed class (back when the day when we had sex ed) is the one guaranteed way to get pregnant?

I refrained from telling him it's really a non-issue since I'm in a long-term relationship so we only have sex sex, like, twice a month anyway.

I was not a fan of this guy. He didn't even warn me when he started with the speculum and stuff, which, really? I know it's coming eventually, but I'd like an ETA kthx.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.