All The Cool Kids
05 November 2006 at 2:50 pm

So we were hanging out at our usual bar a few weeks ago when our favorite bartender mentioned that the owner was looking to hire a female bartender (because she had primarily male bartenders and wanted to even it out, and also because she thinks girls are cleaner, which...hah). I said, "I'm always looking for a job!" so he brought me an application and I didn't think anything of it -- I have no bartending experience -- until the owner called me the next day, brought me in for a training session, and off I went. So that's how I accidentally got another job. I wanted to wait a few weeks to tell my mom because I wasn't sure if it was going to work out, if I could handle it, and I didn't want her to stress me out about it more until I figured it out for myself. But I'm handling it, and I still like all my jobs enough to keep them, and more money is always good. I average between $14-$16 an hour (I walked out with $150 last night), work 1-2 days a week (Mondays and every other Saturday), and have a lot of fun doing it. Plus, I've been drinking less since I can't drink at work, which means I've lost weight, which means hooray!

Last night at the bar, some of Aaron's coworkers came in and I got to talking to one of the girls and eventually we started talking about school, and how we're both English majors, and oh, what classes are you taking this quarter? And we're taking two of the same classes and had no idea. These aren't lectures, they're 30-35 people discussion classes, but I say this to demonstrate how absolutely out of the college loop I am. Which is why I like to work, because work, especially at the retail store and at the bar, is my social life. But I get paid for it! Everybody wins!

So if you live around here (I don't think there's anyone who reads this who lives around here, but whatevs), come to the Mercury Lounge on my shifts and give me your moneys. All the cool kids are doing it.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.